nanaxrocket.blogg.se

Neofinder and affinity photo
Neofinder and affinity photo






  1. Neofinder and affinity photo how to#
  2. Neofinder and affinity photo update#
  3. Neofinder and affinity photo code#
  4. Neofinder and affinity photo plus#
  5. Neofinder and affinity photo mac#

I've been using NeoFinder all day today, and it's a comfortable environment to work in. Maybe if I had said "An Aperture replacement that isn't Lightroom" it would have gotten more attention! It should make moving to something like NeoFinder easier to do. I'm really glad that I went with referenced masters when I initially configured my Aperture library. I'm still using Aperture but I know that they day is coming when I will need to move to another solution.

Neofinder and affinity photo mac#

I'm also going to read Beyond Lightroom: How one Mac power user found the Holy Grail of media asset management to see how the author used NeoFinder to solve his need for a powerful DAM solution. This has been posted for a day already and no replies? I guess that you need to add the terms "Lightroom" or "Aperture" to the title to grab the attention of people. It’s definitely worth far more than the measly $40 the author asks. And, should they go out of business in a year, I've lost no functionality because all of the data is stored in the image files themselves.

Neofinder and affinity photo update#

It’s not perfect (no software ever is) it doesn’t do versions/stacks like PS/Aperture did, for instance, and it doesn’t instantaneously update folders the way other apps do (you have to manually invoke an update routine, which takes a few minutes to run.) But those are minor quibbles, because everything else I need in a DAM is there and works very well. It’s intuitive, fast, and handles everything - it even recognizes the native Affinity Photo and Designer files. I’ve been running it hard for a couple of weeks now, and it’s exactly what I’ve been looking for. It’s been around, continually updated, since 1995. NeoFinder is a file cataloging application it doesn’t care what the file is, it’ll catalog and organize it using common metadata and the OS X file system. The article introduced me to a product called NeoFinder, which I promptly downloaded. The author was having some of the same issues I was (though coming from a completely different place) and he detailed his search for a good DAM. Then I ran across an article on ZDNet titled "Beyond Lightroom: How one Mac power user found the Holy Grail of media asset management”. Some of them were ridiculously expensive. I found a few apps, but none of them were particularly good.

Neofinder and affinity photo code#

Its image editing features were useless to me and they no doubt contributed to the code bloat which slowed the app down.Įventually I got frustrated and went looking at anything else I hadn’t yet tried. Updating the library was a hit-and-miss affair. Some things were tedious, and sometimes it failed to import everything it was supposed to.

Neofinder and affinity photo how to#

It’s not intuitive, and even after nearly a year’s use I still have to stop and think how to do common tasks. What’s more, I never really warmed up to the their interface. Scrolling through images was painfully slow as I waited for it to display thumbnails. Where Aperture (and most of the other replacements I auditioned) would scroll through the whole catalog quickly and easily, Photo Supreme just bogged. It seemed to do exactly what I wanted, but after putting my whole image catalog into it (and adding more every week) I discovered that PhSu really slowed down as the image count increased. I tried a number of products and initially settled on Photo Supreme.

Neofinder and affinity photo plus#

The only way to do it was to output to TIFFs, but then again if I wanted to make a small change I had to start over with the RAW file.īasing a DAM on the OS X file system and image metadata, plus a common image format, seemed to be the way to go. In Aperture, for instance, all the non-destructive work I’d put into developing my images was lost going to any other application. I wanted an “open source” solution, one which wasn’t tied to any particular app. So, I went looking for a suitable replacement.Īs I looked, I decided that I never wanted to go through this again. As I got more comfortable with those packages, I found I was only using the DAM functions in Aperture. DxO produced far better RAW development than Aperture ever did, and I got to the point that I could do more, faster, and with better results in Affinity Photo. I was having issues with it (most of which were caused by the Apple TIFF debacle) and knew it was living on borrowed time.Īt the same time, I had moved to using standalone apps for RAW development (DxOptics Pro) and image manipulation (Affinity Photo). While I loved the app (I was an early adopter, back in the days when it was several hundred dollars), as we all know it’s gotten long in the tooth. A year or so ago I went on a quest to replace Aperture.








Neofinder and affinity photo